IDK what I’m even doing, but here’s a mid-week fab 5 I guess?

22 Apr

So today is Tuesday which means it’s tiot (ignoring that I actually do my tiot on Mondays) but also, as usual, my life is a mess and I’m crazy busy so I’m gonna get this week’s fab 5 and tiot all in one go. Yes, it’s the Fab Friday 5. On Tuesday.

  1. (MAJOR TRIGGER WARNINGS FOR: rape, rape culture, rape in the military, sexual assault, rape apologists, victim blaming) Amy Schumer is seriously ON POINT with this sketch about sexual assault in the armed forces (and how it is blatantly dismissed, ignored and blamed on the victim).
  2. LynBDesigns just released her new collection — Alice in Wonderland. Naked Without Polish swatched all of them, and I’m totally in love. I think Cheshire Grin is my favorite, but The White Queen is a close second! (Plus look at that logo! So cute, I’m impressed with myself haha)
  3. Let’s talk about the most recent Game of Thrones episode and wtf turning Jaime into a rapist?? (Trigger warnings: rape, incest, sexual violence) (also it should be noted that despite what this post says, Dany & Drogo’s relationship was totes not consensual)
  4.  I know it’s after Easter, but here’s a super cute multi-colored stamping mani (plus tutorial!) from Lacquer or Leave Her!
  5. In honor of my recent decision to take the LSATs and probably go to law school… this week’s favorite tumblr is #whatshouldwecallgradschool

So that’s the fab 5, and now here’s my tiot:

(Disclaimer: Polish purchased by me. All Opinions are my own)

Presentation2(I apologize for the extremely poor quality of this photo — I watermarked it using Microsoft Publisher because I’m at work lol)

So this week I decided to try out China Glaze Turned Up Turquoise, which I totally loved. I have 2 sets of polish from China Glaze, and I basically love all of them because they have a matte finish! The color is extremely vibrant and the polish is well pigmented (2 thin coats seen above). Sadly, as with almost all China Glaze polishes I own, it has massive chipping issues. It’s beautiful to look at without a top coat because something about matte finishes really appeals to me visually, but it doesn’t last long. After an hour of wearing this and watching it chip away, I broke down and added a top coat of Ellagee Glass which of course dramatically changed the look and texture of the polish, such a shame.

LIFE NEWS: This weekend I’ve planned a super fun and exciting (vegan, gluten-and-nut-free) masquerade! Follow me on IG (@thesecretvegan) to see how totally awesome it’s going to be! (plus pics of my nail art and my totally cute apartment) AND I’m hosted a nail art competition at my work so I’ll be posting about that soon too 🙂 You’ll get to see my mom’s nails haha.

As always, thanks all for putting up with me! xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

