Try it on T’Wednesday: Square Hue Passport Collection – Amsterdam

17 Apr

(Better late than never, right?)

So last week, I received my eagerly-anticipated nail polish subscription box from Square Hue! I wanted to try Square Hue the moment I heard of it (because I have a subscription addiction), but I didn’t make the commitment because I couldn’t find any official proof that their polishes were vegan. After a quick twitter exchange, however, I confirmed the vegan-ness of their polishes and off we go!

Disclaimer: Polish purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

Each month Square Hue puts together a collection of 3 polish colors and sends them out. April’s colors are part of the “Passport Collection” and were inspired by Amsterdam.

2014-04-16 08.37.43

From left to right: beethoven straat, kalver straat, p.c. hooft straat

This collection included 2 high gloss cremes (Beethoven Straat and Kalverstraat) and 1 duochrome (P.C. Hooft Straat). All of the names basically mean nothing to me (other than Beethoven), but the colors are definitely worth talking about. I’ll admit readily that I opened this box and was like… what did I get myself into? Because the green is basically lime and I couldn’t imagine how that would work out in my favor, haha. Turns out, though, this box is in the top 10 best investments of my polish career.

So here’s the run down:

  • Beethoven Straat: A super bright, lime green with a high gloss finish. I was hesitant about this polish most of all because, well, what really was it going to match with? But then I ended up really liking the color because the consistency of the polish is totally perf (2 thin coats for full coverage) and the color really pops. The only thing I really didn’t like is that it will definitely stain your nails. Luckily, I used like 3 base coats under it and escaped with minimal staining.
  • Kalver Straat: The image above does not do this color justice. It’s basically like a fluorescent pink-orange. Very vibrant, definitely something everyone will notice. Formula is great for this polish, one coat is basically all you need. Don’t stare too long, though, because it’s so bright, it might permanently damage your eyes.
  • P.C. Hooft Straat: Ah, here we are, the absolute gem in this collection. It’s not as densely pigmented as the other and has a definite sheerness at one coat, but two or three layers in and you’ve got a really brilliant color. The duochrome really gives this an extra dimension and makes it stand out. It definitely holds its own in this trio.

So with this collection, I put together three nail art designs using 2 polishes at a time.

Here’s P.C. Hooft Straat and Beethoven Straat:

2014-04-12 22.40.47

I did this mani using just a little striping tape.

And Kalver Straat with P.C. Hooft Straat:

2014-04-16 08.35.17

French tips done by hand using the brush provided.

Anddd Beethoven Straat with Kalver Straat:

2014-04-16 21.22.36

Design made using Scotch tape and striping tape.

Overall, I ended up really liking all of these colors — though I think in the future, I’ll keep the Beethoven Straat and Kalver Straat for “accent” use only. The formula for these polishes does great coverage and the colors certainly make a statement!

I’m out for probably rest of the week for studying, but I’ll try to put together a fab f’Saturday or Sunday for y’all. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

