Try It on T’Monday – LynBDesigns Eloquent Dust & Purple Polish of Sex

24 Mar

Hey friends, the mish mash is done for the season, all my friends have left (they come back at the end of April!) and I’m living alone again, doing nothing but working and painting my nails which means — I’ve got time to participate in Sassypaints’ Try It On Tuesday again! But since I work Tuesdays from 9am to 7pm, I’ll be posting on Mondays because I have the afternoon off.

Disclaimer: Both polishes bartered for graphic design services. All opinions are my own.

2014-03-23 22.59.22

So the polishes I used for this mani were Eloquent Dust and Purple Shirt of Sex, both from LynBDesigns’ Baker Street collection. I’ve been wanting these polishes for foreverrrr but I couldn’t justify making a massive polish purchase (because I can never pick just one). Lucky me that I happen to be a graphic designer haha. So let me tell you about the polishes:

  • Eloquent Dust – Based on this scene from BBC’s Sherlock:
     
    (in case you need a close up of that motion he’s making… lol)

    This is basically the perfect grey polish! I always have trouble finding a nice, light grey color. Every grey polish I own is wayyy too dark or tan/greenish, ick. This is a nice 20% black color that reminds me of those beautiful cool grey Prismacolor markers… ah yes, graphic designer wet dream. This polish has a nice consistency and dries glossy and smooth. Easy to apply evenly. Expect to see it a lot in the future!
  • Purple Polish of Sex: Based on this shirt from BBC’s Sherlock:

    AKA the time Benedict didn’t button his collar while filming haha. So this polish I didn’t really “try” just used quickly as an accent with some striping tape on my ring finger. From my brief experience with this polish, I can tell you it was very sheer and I should probably have used another coat to produce a stronger color. That being said, I think it will make a nice base coat for a future mani.

Overall, I really liked both of these polishes, especially Eloquent Dust, which is no great surprise since I’ve been eyeing them for ages. As you all probably know by now, I was a HUGE fan of BBC’s Sherlock until I recently got fed up with Moffat and BBC’s general disrespect toward their fanbase. That doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate the brilliance of fandom-based polishes, though! In fact, I think LynBDesigns has catered to fans better than BBC ever has. Nothing better than nail polish + fandoms imo 🙂

Leave a Reply

