Fabulous Friday Five

15 Feb

Well, happy Valentine’s day! No doubt you’re all basking the beautiful chaos of the most recent snowstorm to sweep the East Coast.

What’s that, you’re not basking? Your car is buried in 2 feet of snow and all the trees around your  house are covered in ice causing them to break and bend? Pffffttt it’s not so bad is it–

oh

ohhhh

2014-02-14 10.53.04

Oh. Okay then. Perhaps the chaos is *not* so beautiful.

But! It did result in a lot of people (not me) having the day off, and snow days can be fun, right?

Anyway, it’s Friday and let’s get on with our fabulous Friday five!

  1. I think this week’s challenge was my favorite out of the whole bunch because I love the black and white manicures! And I have to show you all Glittery Fingers & Sparkling Toes fabulous black, white and silver ombre. I’m extra jealous because I’m terrible at ombres.
  2. I made a terrible (and belated) attempt at a Valentine’s mani (see the bottom of this post), so I thought I’d show you one I saw and loved from Nail Addicted Sisters because I’m ashamed haha
  3. I’m a little late in showing this to you all, but Vegan Beauty Review put together a cruelty-free fashion guide for Valentine’s day!
  4. Do you have any idea how much the federal government of the United States has spent on marriage promotion???? LIKE A BILLION DOLLARS. Feministing put together a handy list of 5 things on which that money could have been better spent.
  5. You might have heard that Michael Sam, soon-to-be-professional football player has come out publicly! It’s been sad that a lot of football coaches have been reacting negatively, but this one newscaster gets it right.

Alright, and now I’ll show you all my weekend mani aka last-minute Valentine’s manicure

2014-02-14 19.02.21So I originally intended something much more deluxe than this — a “modern art” mani using every shade of pink I own à la Nail Art Novice but then I tried doing the manicure while drunk and… no, just no. Do not paint your nails if you have vodka in your system. JUST DON’T. This has been a public service announcement from Vegan Nail Art, Baby.

Moving on, I decided last minute to paint my nails as you see above. I started with a base coat of OPI A Oui Bit of Red then used Wet N Wild Make Them Boys Go Loco (from their Fergie collection haha) on all but my accent nail. On my ring finger, I painted a misshaped heart in black (to match my own heart).

*BONUS* 

6. Don’t forget Over the Topcoat has a fab giveaway still going, and I’m providing a prize!!

Alright that’s it for me because I have a ton of work left to do!

xoxo Happy Valentine’s Day

3 Responses to “Fabulous Friday Five”

  1. sjbeauty February 15, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    aww your mani is kind of cute!!

  2. TheBookishManicurist February 19, 2014 at 8:13 am #

    I’ve never seen snow, so it looks amazing to me, but I’m sure it really gets in the way of day-to-day life!

    Love your heart mani 🙂

    • The Secret Vegan February 19, 2014 at 2:17 pm #

      I think you’re very lucky to have avoided snow your whole life! I’m getting so sick of winter, I sometimes catch myself daydreaming about going outside without having to put boots on….

Leave a Reply

