A Fabulous Mish Mash Friday

17 Jan

Back again with another all-in-one post! I hope you all are having a fabulous Friday! I’m going to mix things up by starting with the Kimber’s Mish Mash challenge for this week. The theme is “2 colors you would normally never pair up.” And boy, do I have a color combination that covers that requirement.

Most of my polishes compliment each other really well, so I had a difficult time picking which ones I would normally *never* pair up. I have them all organized by color, so I hoped all the drawers and laid out a few combinations without really being satisfied until… China Glaze Purple Panic meet YouPolish Zombie Boogie. A match that would never be sanctioned by heaven.

2014-01-17 10.29.39 copy

2014-01-17 10.29.54 copy

I apologize for how messy the manicure is — truth is I just wanted to get it on and remove it as quickly as possible because it was a bit painful on the eyes haha.

Now that’s out of the way, let’s get down to our Fabulous Friday 5.

  1. As I mentioned, the theme this week was “2 colors you would normally never pair up,” and my fellow mish mashers met the challenge! I had to pick Small Budget Beauty‘s blue-and-lime mash up because she made a color combo I would normally dislike look cute as heck!
  2. Award season has began and normally I hate it (oh another white male won an award? I’m shocked and thrilled *eye roll*) but I love great speeches and Meryl-the-goddess-Streep gave a fabulous speech at the recent National Board of Review gala about how Walt Disney was a racist and a misogynist. HIGHLY recommend.
  3. Speaking of award season, Nail It! Put together a fab collection of celebrity nail art from the Golden Globes. Personal favorite: Kerry Washington

    [Image: Getty Images/WireImage]
  4. Fair warning: My inner environmentalist is flaring up lately, and I’m torn between doing everything I can to prevent humans from destroying the planet or helping humanity destroy itself just to free the planet from our grasp. UGH people get it together already. This should be our number one focus, nothing else matters if the humans literally destroy everything. Here’s a video to inspire you to take action:
    Wake Up, Freak Out – then Get a Grip from Leo Murray on Vimeo.
  5. I want to end on a high note, but that will have to wait for our bonus number because I want to share with you this fascinating article from the Feminist Breeder (a name of which I am not a fan but that does not affect the usefulness of the information): Explaining White Privilege to a Broke White Person. Seriously, everyone should read this, especially us poor white people. It’s something that took me a long time to completely understand — I know, I know on an informational level that the suffering of poor white people does not undo the systematic discrimination and built-in racism in this country (USA) and that without actively participating, we (collective white people) are benefitting from a those systematic discriminations, but on emotional level, I understand the suffering of the poor in general, and I know it can be difficult to reconcile the idea of a very poor white person benefitting from white privilege. This article really sums things up, it’s a must read.

*BONUS*

Six is for Steven Moffat (ugh). My hate for Steven Moffat increases exponentially with each day and with each word out of his or any of his character’s mouths. FYI, I did not watch the new Sherlock season on BBC — despite having been a fan since the show’s inception! — because I simply can’t deal with Moffat’s horrible misogyny, his queer baiting,  his erasure of basically all minorities, his total inability to commit to a character’s suffering or to a logical plotline, his fan-bashing, etc, etc. I often ask myself: why are people putting up with this? And it looks like the Daily Dot has been asking the same question: Why does the man behind ‘Doctor Who’ and ‘Sherlock’ still have a job? I highly recommend following the links in the articles too 🙂

Alright, I’m at work so I’m going to quit here. I realize I wanted to end on a high note, though so… Before I go, I’ll share with you my new found love for this Kpop band: Miss A

Don’t forget to check out the other bizarre combinations of 2 colors from the other amazing Mish Mash challenge ladies!

One Response to “A Fabulous Mish Mash Friday”

  1. Small Budget Beauty January 18, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

    Awww Thanks for the shout out! I’m with you, I like both the colors you chose for your mani, but not together 😉

Leave a Reply

