Fabulous Friday Guest Post: Liz from A-Mani-Maniac

29 Nov

(A Note from Marilyn: Hey all! As you know, I’m away this week but the fabulous Liz from A-Mani-Maniac has been kind enough to help me out by preparing a guest post for you all. Thanks so much Liz! Please check out her blog over at a-mani-maniac.blogspot.com. And don’t forget, I’ve still got my giveaway running until Tuesday, so check it out on my facebook page by clicking the “giveaway” picture on the right below my cover photo. Thanks guys, and enjoy this post from Liz!)

Hi all!  This is Liz from A-Mani-Maniac, and I’m pretty excited to be here guest posting for Marilyn.  My blog is pretty low-profile, but I thought this might be fun to do.  I hope she’s having a good time on vacay!

I had an entirely different mani set up for today…really, I did.  But I forgot the cardinal rule during winter, and the nail gods made me pay.  I didn’t moisturize the day I was going to photograph my post, and a really long, stupid story later, I had 6 broken nails and a ruined manicure.

Please take pity; my fingers still haven’t recovered, and this is the shortest my nails have been in months.  The breaks got so low, it made it impossible to have a nice straight edge.  Sigh…Anyway, the mani’s must go on, right?

I’ve been trying to do an OPAL effect mani for what feels like forever, but haven’t been able to come up with one that I’m happy with.  This still isn’t quite it, but it is pretty darn close.   Just a note – I had to make the photos a little on the dark side – the colors wouldn’t come out to play on the normal settings.  I hope you can see a little something of what I see in person.

Normal settings & sunlight
Darker settings

I used the dry marble technique.  I came across this back in March of this year, and just LOVE it!  I like making my own nail strips, but the down side is you have to plan.  It takes a good day to completely dry and make them easily workable, but it is so worth it.

I used a plain white base polish (Wet ‘n Wild A Blank Canvas), and for the dry marble I used six CND Shimmer effects.

Whew…this was a little longer than I had thought it would be!  I want to thank Marilyn for letter me take over the blog for the day, and I hope you all liked what I did.  Enjoy the weekend, don’t break the wallet today, and I hope you all make some good memories this season!!
Happy Holidays!
Liz
Leave a Reply

