Kimber’s Mish Mash Challenge: Grey

21 Nov

Hey friends, it’s pretty late night but I’m committed to completing this challenge on time haha. My life has been a hot mess lately, and I’m crazy extra busy this week because I’m working in berserker mode and blah blah, the situation isn’t really important. I work too much, I’m exhausted when I get home and I drink a lot, haha. That basically sums up my life at the moment.

Anyway, this week’s Mish Mash challenge theme was grey and when I went to choose my polishes for this mani I realized… I only own one grey, haha. I had an OPI grey at one point from their Germany collection, but I lost it or loaned it to someone (or, more likely, my mom stole it off my shelf when I leant her the key to my apartment last week). Since my polishes are organized by color, I’m pretty confident in my assessment that I only own one grey polish. It’s funny, too, because I’ve been looking for a light grey for awhile now and have had such a difficult time finding a nice, opaque light grey polish.

So I used the only grey I do own: Thunderstorm from E.L.F.’s Villains collection.

2013-11-20 22.36.27

It’s a pretty dark grey, which is disappointing because I really wanted to do light grey with dark grey and black dots for this challenge. Instead, I decided to use some light pink and white for the dots, and I think it turned out pretty cute. I love the color combo and accent nails are my favorite because it gives me a reason to be lazy haha. Does anyone have any recommendations for a light grey I can purchase? I don’t want something that is going to look tan or white or too dark or green, I just want a nice 20% black color, you know? Please definitely leave any suggestions in the comments!

Alright, that’s it folks. I’ll definitely be back for Fab Friday AND you’ll see a bonus post on Saturday which y’all had better stop by for it because it’s a SUPER IMPORTANT UPDATE (SERIOUSLY!).

Also, on an unrelated note, I made a big girl decision and purchased my own domain name! You can now find me at vegannailartbaby.com!

Don’t forget to check out all the other beautiful grey manis this week!

10 Responses to “Kimber’s Mish Mash Challenge: Grey”

  1. thecosmetical November 21, 2013 at 4:41 am #

    Zoya Dove and Illamasqua DWS are my 2 favorite light grey polishes.

    • The Secret Vegan November 21, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      Oh! I love them both! Zoya is one of my favorite brands. I haven’t tried Illamasqua, but I just checked Vegan Claws and their polish is vegan-friendly! I’ve added them both to the list of future polishes 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Nail Art Novice November 21, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    Try Revlon-Hazy, it’s a lovely light grey and you should be able to pick it up fairly cheaply as it’s an older colour.
    This is really pretty, love the accents!

    • The Secret Vegan November 21, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      I’m a little nervous about Revlon because their animal-testing-status is a little shaky :/ thanks for the suggestion though! I looked up the color and I do really like it, so it’s a shame that I feel like I can’t trust Revlon 😦

  3. Dionne November 21, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    This is so cute! I love the dark gray shade. And I’m so happy to find someone else that organizes by color instead of brand!! I don’t know about it’s vegan status, but LA Colors Lost Soul is a real pretty light gray (it’s the base of my mani this week)

    • The Secret Vegan November 21, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      I could never organize by brand, I have wayyyy too many different kinds haha. LA Colors is vegan-friendly and good to go! I like the color a lot too, it’s all a matter of actually finding where to purchase it in my small town…

  4. Natalie November 23, 2013 at 1:50 am #

    In a pinch, you can always mix a darker grey with a white polish to get a lighter grey. 🙂 I organize by color, too. By brands is too confusing for me!

  5. Simona LightYourNails November 25, 2013 at 8:28 am #

    What about mixing some white and dark grey yourself? Anyway, I love pink and white dots over this dark grey equally!

  6. Polish Asphyxiation November 26, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    I don’t own but 1 grey myself.. lol
    I love what you did with the dots, the lighter pink looks so great on the dark grey

  7. thebookishmanicurist November 27, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    I love your dotty accent nail, it looks great with the grey!th

Leave a Reply

