Try it on Tuesday: Van Gogh’s Violet

12 Nov

Heyy everyone. It’s another Monday edition of TioT (you love it, I know you do) and this week I’m trying out another one of the awesome polishes Dionne sent me for Halloween.

This one is Finger Paints Van Gogh Violet, and it’s a lovely purple and silver glitter bomb. I decided to wear it over Wet N Wild Wild Card (I see what you did there Wet N Wild) because I wanted a color with a similar hue but that wouldn’t overwhelm the color of the glitters.

Disclaimer: Gifted to me by a fellow nail polish blogger. All opinions are my own.

2013-11-11 20.25.59-2

So let’s do some nitty-gritty pros/cons, shall we?

Pros:

  • color, color, color! That’s the absolute best part of this. The main mini glitter is a perfectly pretty purple (did you see what I did there? Take that Wet N Wild)
  • Formula: easy to apply, easy to distribute, nicely done

Cons

  • The name. What the heck, Finger Paints, I don’t recognize this color from any Van Gogh paintings haha. I googled to see if maybe he made any paints of violets like the flower… not that I could find. If anyone knows of one let me know, especially if it’s this color purple
  • Staying ability: you can tell from the image that the glitter didn’t cling well to the tip of my nails (this photo was taken exactly 24 hours post-application, which is pretty normal for my photo-shooting), and I didn’t even do anything today — I drove 45 minutes and bought a half dozen vegan cupcakes, haha, not a whole lot of stress. For the rest of the nail, however, like most glitter bombs, it was kinda a struggle to remove.

The big question for the day is… have I found the better lighting/backdrop situation for nail photos? What do you think? Improvement from Saturday, at the very least, right?

And that’s it for me tonight! Have a great Tuesday, see you in a couple of days for the (on time!!) mish mash 🙂

One Response to “Try it on Tuesday: Van Gogh’s Violet”

  1. Catherine Dream November 12, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    It’s looks like New Years exploded on your nails!

Leave a Reply

