Fabulous Friday 5

25 Oct

Hello and good morning everyone! I hope you all enjoyed Kimber’s guest post for last week’s fab Friday and simultaneously aren’t too disappointed to see me back, haha.

I am sorry I missed last week’s post, but not that sorry because I got to see my friends from Philly!! It was really so great having Anne and Alastair here. They left on Sunday, though and I started missing them already. COME BACK FRIENDS, LIVE WITH ME!!

Anyway, a lot of stuff happened this week and last, so let’s get started:

  1. This week’s mish mash challenge theme was possibly my favorite so far: Rainbow. All the girls did such beautiful, colorful manis but I had to pick one to feature, and it’s definitely gotta be Sunshine Nails classy modern art:
  2. Petit Vour did a quick blog about why 3-free is better for you with some suggestions for alternatives to purchase, including LVX which is probably one of the nicest laquers out there and I would use 100% of the time of not for that silly “money” thing. Other 3-frees they didn’t mention are Piggy Paint, pretty much every indie brand ever and Zoya.
  3.  It’s almost Halloween, so keep your eye out for vegan candy options
  4. UN Women made a cool-but-mostly-scary ad campaign exposing sexism using real google searches.
  5. The Nailasaurus did this super cute Halloween patchwork design and gave us lay people a tutorial 🙂

Weekend Mani:

I finally found the opportunity to wear the 2nd polish I got in my YouPolish box at the beginning of the month, haha.

2013-10-24 21.15.44

  • Base color: Glow-in-the-Dark green from Blue Cross Beauty Products
  • Glitter: YouPolish Calaveritas

*BONUS*

6 is for Sherlock! They’ve released the “for real guys, this time we mean it! (again!)” release date for BBC’s Sherlock season 3 in the US. It’s supposedly January 10, 2014. Yes, 2014. When did season 2 air… oh yeah, January 2012. Fuck you, BBC.

Sorry, whew. I’m actually just — GRRRR. Okay, maybe I’m the only fan who is angry about this whole f-ing thing, I don’t know but like… okay, here’s the deal: I loved Sherlock. LOVED IT. I dedicated literally the entire year of 2012 to that TV show. I was obsessed. I have read/viewed/reviewed more fan art than I can even recount, I have watched the series more times than I’d like to admit and I have obsessed like a tween boy band fan about Martin Freeman, Benedict Cumberbatch and Mark Gatiss. I have been f-ing dedicated. And I’m certainly not the only one. There are sooo many fans. So many people who, like myself, have overlooked a fair bit (LOTS) of sexism to pull for a show they find entertaining and exciting, but do the show runners/creators/writers/actors give a damn? Evidently not because it’s taken them 2 goddamn years to put anything together. And who knows if this air date is actually worth anything? I’ve heard lots of release dates over the past 2 years only to have my hopes shot down. At this point, I’ll be honest that I’m considering not watching at all. I just don’t know if they deserve me. GRRR.

Okay moving on…

Sorry about the tirade at the end there, friends. Something about the bonus number 6 really gets my fire going, you know? Y’all probably think I’m crazy now, but I don’t care because I know I’m awesome

Alright, I gotta get up and go do something productive haha, but before I go I just wanna make a shout out to Dionne over at Glittery Fingers & Sparkly Toes who sent me an AMAZING nail mail package for Halloween. Check it out on my new facebook page and make sure you like the page while you’re there so you’ll be up to date on exciting happenings here at Vegan Nail Art, Baby!

2 Responses to “Fabulous Friday 5”

  1. Catherine Dream October 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    Oh my god, don’t even get me STARTED on Sherlock.
    Ugh!
    2014, are they joking?! BBC! *shakes fist*
    Looooove that green mani!

  2. XlinaXMX October 29, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    Hey,
    Just to let you know I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger & The Liebster Awards. So hope over to my blog and read all the awful things I said about you *Jokeing* http://drugstorecouture.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/we-interrupt-your-daily-programming/
    http://drugstorecouture.wordpress.com/

    Ciao
    ♠ Lina Maureen the Drugstore Queen ♠

    Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Leave a Reply

