Kimber’s Mish Mash Challenge: Book

10 Oct

Wow, I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to get around to posting this, I actually got so excited for this challenge that I finished it like 3 days ago, haha. I guess I’ve just been so crazy busy, I didn’t prepare well!

So this week’s challenge theme was “book” which was pretty open ended to the point where I had a bit of difficulty choosing. Really, I’ve read so many great books (not so much lately since I don’t have time), and how could I pick just one?? But in the end I did, and I decided on Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Canon Doyle (he and I are so tight, I call him ACD — this is actual fact, I really do refer to him as ACD). As desperately sexist as ACD and his writing was, I love, love, love the Sherlock Holmes books and every reboot only increases my love for the characters and the stories. It’s difficult for me to really express why I like the story so much because pretty much every single version is more sexist than the last (yes, this includes Sherlock AND Elementary) but, well, I like what I like. And I particularly like the character of Sherlock Holmes, even if he is a sexist asshole haha.

Anyway, I opted for a pretty simple mani, which I freehanded using my Art Club precision brushes.

2013-10-06 21.25.39

The polishes I used for this mani were:

  • Base color: ELF Thunderstorm (from ELF’s Disney Villains special edition pack — which is totally worth purchasing even if you have to drive 50 miles to your nearest Walgreens– which I not saying I did….)
  • Nail Art: Color Club’s Art Club White
  • Top Coat: KISS Matte Effect Top Coat

Don’t forget to check out everyone else’s (lovely and amazing!) book nail art 🙂

11 Responses to “Kimber’s Mish Mash Challenge: Book”

  1. Natalie October 10, 2013 at 5:18 am #

    Great idea for a mani!

  2. Simona LightYourNails October 10, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Ok, I know those numbers/code must mean something, but I don’t think I’ve ever read an ACD/Sherlock Holmes book. How bad am I?
    Other that that I love the black and white mattified combo!

    • The Secret Vegan October 10, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Oh, I’m terrible, I should have mentioned that in my post! 221B is the number of the house on Baker Street where Sherlock lives 🙂

  3. Criminal Nails October 10, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Looks great!

  4. Dionne Glittery Fingers & Sparkling Toes October 10, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Hey, you don’t have to apologize for what you like!! Besides, although I’ve never read a book by Sir Doyle (we aren’t as tight as you are), I love Elementary!

    And I love your mani!!! But really??? No hint as to what means??? Not fair 😦

    But fabulous job on getting us all curious!

  5. Polish Asphyxia October 10, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    Freehand looks really great

  6. Small Budget Beauty October 10, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    Great idea! Love the matte finish!

  7. mishka824m October 11, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    Love it! I am a huge Sherlock Holmes fan. 🙂

  8. Cristina (@PeeBeforePolish) October 11, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    I definitely agree with you, Sherlock Holmes is a sexist asshole, but I love the books by Sir ACD! 😀
    A couple of years ago I even visited 221B of Baker Street. 😀

  9. TheBookishManicurist October 11, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    I’ve read at least one Sherlock book when I was younger and I’m about to give Elementary a go! There’s a new YA book called Every Breath which is inspired by Sherlock, too!

    Love your nails 😀

  10. Patty Greenberg October 14, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    Glad you explained the numbers because I thought maybe it was the combination of to a safe that had a confidential file. Love the matte black.

Leave a Reply

