Fabulous Friday Five

4 Oct

Good morning everyone. I’ve been in bed pretty much all week long, so I’ve had lots of time to read blog posts and articles and enter giveaways and what have you, haha, so it’s particularly difficult for me to narrow it down to a top 5. Nonetheless, it must be done!

  1. Another week of amazing manis in the Mish Mash challenge, the theme of which was “triangle.” In the end, I *had* to pick Sassypaints because, I mean, Harry Potter how could I not?
  2. Sara over at Hello Giggles put together a nice, quick list of 5 Nail Myths Busted!
  3. Vegan Beauty Review is promoting another fabulous giveaway, this one for Kosia Naturals so check it out
  4. My favorite animal sanctuary has recently rescued 150 young chickens! These chickens were intended for use in Kaporos, a Jewish ritual about which I know little except that it involves animal sacrifice :/ Anyway, these 150 have survived (sadly 2000 did not). To learn more about their rescue and to sponsor them in their new lives, check out the article on vegansaurus.
  5. All Laquered Up is having a giveaway for her A Pair Affair Fingerpaints collection which I am just dying to try! Check it out here.

Weekend Mani:

Nothing too fancy right now because I just received my YouPolish October box, and I’m planning to try that out this afternoon πŸ™‚

2013-10-04 08.27.45

 

Just some nice fall colors and a very quick waterfall-esque striping.

*BONUS*

Six is for SHUTDOWN: At 12:01am on October 1, the US government went into partial shutdown. What is a partial government shutdown, you ask? And why did it happen? Oh boy have I got a story for you.

Basically, the fiscal year of the United States goes October 1 – September 30 (don’t ask why, just accept it and move on). Every year, congress needs to pass a budget for the following year so the government can keep spending money, employing people and basically doing what it’s supposed to do. They NEVER do this on time. NEVER. Because it always takes longer than it reasonably should, they pass a quick interim spending bill which basically allows the government to keep spending money the exact same way it was approved to the year before. This happens allllll the time. It’s an extremely common thing. It gives congress the extra time they need to get their butts in gear and approve a real budget for the new fiscal year. This year, the Senate was totes ready to sign a bill that said exactly that: let’s keep spending at the same level we have been while we get the real budget finished. The House of Representatives, however, had different plans. They decided to attach a little addition to the interim spending bill that would delay the start of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) also known as Obamacare for one year. And the Senate was like wtf? Umm no.

Why did the Senate refuse to sign? Three reasons: 1) the ACA was passed into law in 2010. As Β in, it’s a law. And has been for 3 years now. 2) the ACA was held up as constitutional by the Supreme Court which only exists to determine whether or not laws are constitutional. 3) it’s really not the kind of thing that should get attached to an interim spending bill.

Why did the House attach it to the interim spending bill in the first place? Because it is the job of select Republicans (cough tea party cough) to fight Obama. If Obama wants it, they do not (I’m not saying this is because they are racist but it’s because they are racist). They must be looking out for their constituents, though, right? Well, I guess so. I really have no idea who they are looking out for. The white population in their districts who don’t want to pay higher taxes, maybe? Could be big corporations? Though I would think a health care exchange that signs up millions and millions of people would be good for, at the very least, insurance companies, but I really don’t know. They must fight Obamacare. That’s their mission, and they’re going to do it.

(I’m not a democrat, I’m not a republican. I think a 2 party, first-past-the-post with electoral college system is actually a terrible election system, but there’s no way to sugar coat this. I’m not being biased. This is literally the Republicans fault, there’s no way around it.)

So what does this mean for Americans? Well, all federal programs that aren’t self-funded or have funding guaranteed through a certain date have essentially shut down. WIC (Women, Infants, Children) has stopped payments. Housing vouchers will not be paid. NASA is basically shut down. The EPA. The IRS, etc. Tons and tons of workers are being furloughed (sent home without pay, yay unexpected financially debilitating vacation….) and businesses that depend on those workers (restaurants, transit providers) will suffer major economic hardship. Don’t worry, the military will keep fighting — with pay to be delayed. Veterans benefits will last for a bit longer and then start to decline.

Woo hoo.

Party in the USA?

What can the American public do about it? Write to your congress rep. Write to someone else’s congress rep. Don’t vote for these people again. Stay informed.

For more information on the shutdown, I recommend CNN, the Daily Show and Colbert Report (it’s totally left biased but at least you’ll laugh through your depression), NPR and Twitter. Hank Green also did a quick video rundown of the shutdown.

Alright friends, that’s it for me. Sorry about the shutdown craziness. If you have questions about it, leave them in the comments or email me (thesecretvegan@gmail.com) and I’ll do my best to answer them!

Have a great weekend all πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “Fabulous Friday Five”

  1. Kimber October 4, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Oh lord, the shutdown. Don’t Even get me started on that! I am a liberal Dem, but I also have never voted straight party since I believe in voting for what is best for everyone, and not just one party. Conservative Republicans are famous for sticking to party lines, and are now amassing a reputation for throwing temper tantrums large enough to shut down a country. What kills me is that by fighting ACA, they’re basically telling people like me that I do not deserve to survive. I have a health condition that can kill me in minutes, yet being self employed and supporting 2 kids, I don’t make enough to be able to pay the $700/month that the insurance companies want to cover me. Under ACA? $500/YEAR. How coudl anyone with a beating heart and a soul not want that for people??

    • The Secret Vegan October 5, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

      Oh I know exactly what you mean! I can’t even listen to tea partiers speak sometimes because they just sound soooo inconsiderate. It’s like, wow, you really don’t care about anyone outside yourselves, do you?? I’ve heard some terrifying racist, homophobic, sexist rhetoric from them, yikes!

      And I try to keep an open mind but really this ACA fight has gone on too long for it to be reasonable. What really gets me is that Obama literally based his campaign around this healthcare law, and he got voted in so… obviously this is what America wants. If they didn’t want Obamacare, pretty sure we’d have a republican president! It’s taking up so much unnecessary time fighting over a law the American people clearly want and that has been held up as constitutional. If ACA has lasted through 3 years of intense pressure and debate, pretty sure it’s hear to stay and they should just move on! Yet they refuse to admit defeat grrr. UGH POLITICS

  2. Sunny October 13, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    Thank you for the shout out! Am lovin’ your blog! xoxo

    • The Secret Vegan October 13, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Oh my gosh, are you kidding??? I LOVE YOUR BLOG. You’re amazing, I’m totally fangirling into a coma over the fact that you’ve read my blog. Ah! Thank you

      • Sunny October 14, 2013 at 5:33 am #

        You’re way too sweet! πŸ˜‰ xx

Leave a Reply

