Try It on Tuesday PLUS Nail Mail: A’dor Beauty Supplies

1 Oct

So I’ve been pretty much trapped in my bed for 3 days now because of a terrible head cold that prevents me from accomplishing anything at all whilst standing up (it’s a real thing — I feel pretty much okay as long as I’m sitting or lying back, but if I stand I get dizzy and feel really fuzzy), so that means I’ve had lots of time to try my new polishes!

I placed an order with A’dor Beauty Supply (my etsy obsession continues to haunt me) a couple of weeks ago and received 10 (yes TEN) polishes from her last week. She has one of those “6 minis for an incredibly affordable price” offers, and how could I say no to that?? Mini polishes are my favorite because I know I will use them up, and they won’t be stuck on my shelf for the rest of my life. Also I prefer the littler brushes that come in the mini bottles because they’re easier to work with on my tiny nails 🙂

Disclaimer: 8 of 10 polishes purchased by me. 2 provided as “beauty blogger gifts.” All opinions are my own.

2013-10-01 12.47.19

From left to right:

Back row: Allons-y (provided as a beauty blogger gift), Red Hottie, Poppy

Middle Row: Gluttony, Shattered, the Universe, Bottled Sunshine

Front Row: The Last Centurion (provided as a beauty blogger gift), The White Pearl, Blue Box

I don’t know if I can count the ways I love this polish! You can see from The White Pearl that I started using the polish right away, and that particular color is the one I used the most so far even though I didn’t get many pictures of it.

So, let me get right down to it. I’ve tried all of them except Red Hottie, so let me show you them before I give a review.

1. Allons-y & Poppy (a cute fall mani with LynBDesigns’ Colorless Skein on top for an accent nail)

2013-09-21 22.30.43

2. Blue Box & Shattered

2013-09-25 08.38.18

3. Gluttony

2013-09-26 20.29.30

4. The White Pearl, Bottled Sunshine & The Universe (ombre)

2013-09-29 15.18.23

5. The Last Centurion

2013-09-29 13.44.48

Whew. That was a lot of pics. Sadly, I didn’t get a chance to use Red Hottie, but I’m confident my review of these 9 applies to it as well. Let’s get to the nitty gritty, shall we?

Pros:

  • Amazing pigmentation! We’re talking 1- coat products for the most part (2 for the Last Centurion and Poppy)
  • Easy removal – except the Last Centurion which is a glitter polish so I expected no less
  • Awesome glitters – the ones that do have glitters (the Last Centurion and The Universe) have plenty of them.
  • Consistency for all was smooth and easy to use
  • Color-by-color:
    The White Pearl – a shiny metallic white, adds another dimension over the plain jelly whites
    Allons-y – great pigmentation, perfect for fall
    Poppy – my favorite orange polish! Oranges and reds are so hard to find vegan versions of, so this was a great find. Not to even mention how perfect it is for October!
    The Last Centurion – two words: HEXAGON GLITTER — I got tons of compliments on this color, too
    Bottled Sunshine – despite the picture I have above, the color on the bottle is not deceiving, it’s really bright! And perfect for my collection because I don’t yet own a yellow polish
    The Universe – Tiny holographic glitters make this color unique and give it just a little texture
    Gluttony – This polish is aptly named. It feels like an indulgence because it’s so richly pigmented
    Blue Box – This could not have had a more perfectly timed arrival, it was perfect for my mish mash challenge last week! Love the color, matches a vibrant and well-cleaned version of the TARDIS haha
    Shattered – Black and white glitter bombs are possibly now my new favorite. Really gives my nails an artist look without too much effort on my side haha
  • Last but definitely not least, all the colors are VEGAN and cruelty free! Olivia at A’dor advertises her products as vegan, which I just love because it makes it easier on me and draws people’s attention to the fact that some polishes aren’t vegan and they should choose carefully

Cons:

  • I found these chipped within 24 hours if I didn’t use a top coat. Of course, I should always use a top coat… sometimes I don’t because I’m lazy haha. Once I applied the top coat, I had no chipping issues.

—-

Whew! That was a lot to cover in one post. AND I’M NOT EVEN DONE! Haha. Anyway, it’s October which means yay fall and pumpkins and Halloween! I just used some of these polishes reviewed here (named Bottled Sunshine, Poppy and the White Pearl) in a Halloween nail art contest on Facebook, so go check it out and vote for me (insert shameless self-promotion here). Alrighty that’s it for me, have a great day everyone!

Halloween Contest

2 Responses to “Try It on Tuesday PLUS Nail Mail: A’dor Beauty Supplies”

  1. TheBookishManicurist October 11, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    Cool! I love hearing about more vegan polish, I especially like it when they know what vegan means and clearly state it on their website/store/packaging!

    • The Secret Vegan October 11, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

      YES! Stuff that is advertised as vegan is my favorite thing! Makes my life 1000x easier haha

Leave a Reply

