Try It on Tuesday – LynBDesigns IOU

25 Sep

Hello, it’s Tuesday and therefore hella busy over there in my life (which explains why this post is coming an hour shy of Wednesday) but that’s not going to stop me from showing off some nail polish for you!

Today, I tried out a polish I ordered ages ago from LynBDesigns over on Etsy (my etsy obsession strikes again!). This one is “IOU” and is inspired, obviously, by Moriarty in season 2 of BBC’s Sherlock (if you value your life, do not talk about how long I’ve waited for season 3).

Disclaimer: Purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

2013-09-21 17.20.44
In the light

2013-09-21 17.20.51
In the shade

So let’s get right down to it.

Pros:

  • Gorgeous and unique color. Red glitter like apples, black glitters like a Westwood suit, all in a grey suspension base. I received a dozen compliments, which really doesn’t happen much anymore when I’m not sporting serious artwork.
  • HEXAGON GLITTER. I seriously cannot get enough of this stuff. Love the little squares, too, great filler sparkle for a polish with *just enough* chunky glitters. Forget regular glitter. I want some geometry.
  • Umm have you seen the bottle? Graphic design WIN.
  • As with most LynBDesign polishes, this stuff withstood the test of time — two days in the life of Marilyn — and was easy to remove.
  • As always, save the best for last: vegan, cruelty-free and indie!

Cons:

  • While the pigmentation was pretty good, I was weary of putting on a third coat to make the grey pop because it downed out the glitter on the base and 2nd coat.
  • As with all glitter polishes, getting even distribution of glitters takes some skill but the final look is totally worth it.

That’s it for me, happy Tuesday-soon-to-be-Wednesday everyone! Stop by tomorrow for some blue nail art for the mish mash challenge!!

Leave a Reply

