Kimber’s Mish Mash Challenge: Least Expensive Polish(es) aka I do what I want

12 Sep

Hello, hello! It’s another great day for a challenge, don’t you think?? This week’s mish mash challenge theme is “least expensive polish(es)” so do you know what that means? It means I CAN DO WHATEVER I WANT MWHAHAHA.

Ahem. What I mean to say is that as long as I used inexpensive polishes, I could do any design style I wanted.

So obviously I chose Kingdom Hearts.

This is probably a good time to admit my *mild* obsession with the Kingdom Hearts video game series. It’s not that big of a deal. I mean, like, okay so maybe I have a tattoo.

And a life size keyblade.

And some shirts and stuff.

Maybe even some jewelry.

I think we can all agree that my love for KH is totally normal and at socially acceptable levels.

Moving on.

For this week’s challenge mani, I used 2 of my Wet N Wild polishes (one of which I got on sale for only 50 cents) as base colors then I used some precision-brush polishes from Color Club (which I got in a pack of 8 for $7.00) for the symbols.

2013-09-08 13.56.40

I did this all freehand using striping brushes, so forgive that it’s not perfect.

For those who need a brush up on their Kingdom Hearts symbols, from left to right the symbols on my fingers are: key, Kingdom Hearts logo, the crown/blade of Sora’s keyblade, Mickey Mouse on my index finger and the star on my thumb is a paopu fruit.

I know it’s not the most perfect or beautiful manicure, but you know what? It’s my favorite mani so far ever. I’ve actually been wearing it for like… 4 days (touching it up every day because the polish really is cheap haha) which is longer than I ever keep the same polish on my nails. Not a single person has noticed or commented on it at all, but I don’t care. I love, love, love it. It makes me happy just looking at it! And it was great inspiration because I picked up my aborted game of Birth by Sleep and might actually finish it (I haven’t finished it because it doesn’t have Sora as a playable character and that’s tough for me haha).

Anywayyy the polishes I used for this mani were:

  • Base colors: Wet N Wild Silivivor and Wet N Wild Night Prowl
  • Freehand Symbols: Color Club Art Club Striping Colors Black, Neon Yellow, Aqua and Silver

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome stuff my fellow challenge ladies did with their least expensive polishes!

12 Responses to “Kimber’s Mish Mash Challenge: Least Expensive Polish(es) aka I do what I want”

  1. Natalie September 12, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Kingdom Hearts 2 is the only game I ever purchased the day it came out because I loved the first one so much! I still have both and will happily spend a few hours playing them now and again 🙂 Your mani is a perfect tribute!

  2. Chantelle September 12, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    I have no idea what Kingdom of Hearts is but your free hand art rocks! Awesome job! 🙂

  3. Criminal Nails September 12, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    Haha, totally acceptable love for Kingdom Hearts! Now you have me curious about your tattoo and jewelry! Can you show us? Or is it getting too personal? If so, forget I asked 🙂 Nice job with your nails, and it feels just extremely good when you have a mani you genuinely love on your nails 🙂

    • The Secret Vegan September 16, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      Totally not too personal! I will happily add some pics to this just as soon as I have a free moment to do so 🙂

  4. Dionne Glittery Fingers & September 12, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    Love this!!! Great job! Although I haven’t played Kingdom Hearts, and with your obsession I don’t think I want to. I spent a year addicted to Disney’s Toon Town!! I was at level 107 and had to stop. Still miss that game 😦

  5. Dionne Glittery Fingers & Sparkling Toes September 12, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    Love this! And I think the art work looks great! Although I’ve never played Kingdom Hearts. I’m a reformed game addict. I spent a year addicted to Disney’s Toon Town. I loved that game! Made it to level 107. Still miss it.

  6. A-Mani-Maniac September 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Haven’t had a game addiction in a while – I try to avoid them as much as I can, cause I know how I get sucked in! The most fun I’ve had with a manicure is the one that has a personal inspiration for me – this one looks like it was a lot of fun for you! I like it!

  7. Simona LightYourNails September 16, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    I haven’t had any game addiction in a while now. I also avoid them because I have been a real addict for years some time ago and I just don’t want to fall into it again. Love the mani though!

  8. Kristine @ Pink and Polished Nails September 16, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Lol!! Love this so much!! Your nails look freaking amazing!! 🙂

  9. Polish Asphyxia September 16, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    Beautiful. Love your designs.

  10. mishka824m September 17, 2013 at 4:48 am #

    Very cute! Makes me want to do a mani celebrating my Bejeweled 2 addiction…

  11. Cristina (@PeeBeforePolish) September 17, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    I must admit I don’t know Kingdom Hearts video game series, I should ask to my boyfriend! 😀
    Super nice manicure! ^_^

Leave a Reply

