Fabulous Friday 5

6 Sep

Friday morning! Coffee! Pay day! New polish Friday! Oh my!!

Right. So, it’s Fabulous Friday here at Vegan Nail Art, Baby, hope you’re ready for it because I’m sure not.

  1. Fellow vegan and nail art blogger The Bookish Manicurist did this spicy little number for this week’s Mish Mash Challenge. The theme of which was “hot.” I love the simplicity of the design, the bold colors, the variety in the design on each nail and, of course, that all the polishes are vegan!
  2. Samantha over at Incidental Twin put me on her blog and has my swatch up in her etsy shop! (insert shameless self promotion here)
  3. Pigs are as smart as dogs! (actually they’re probably smarter than most children) So why do we love dogs but eat pigs?

    From the Of Course Vegan‘s blog:

    The lead scientist for the project is Lori Marino, a lecturer in psychology at Emory University who has conducted extensive research on the intelligence of whales, dolphins and primates. She plans to review existing scientific literature on farm animals’ intelligence, identify areas warranting new research, and prepare reports on her findings that would be circulated worldwide via social media, videos and her personal attendance at scientific conferences. “I want to make sure this is all taken seriously,” Marino said in an interview. “The point is not to rank these animals but to re-educate people about who they are. They are very sophisticated animals.”

    PS Of Course Vegan also did this great post about Big Bang Theory’s Mayim Bialik

  4. Holy snap to the heavens, Seche is doing nail color now! Yes, as in Seche Vite. Color. What can I say except…

    Of course there’s no where near me that even sells Seche Vite, let alone their color polishes. Anyway, Set in Laquer did a bunch of swatches (lucky lucky) so definitely check those out. According to Set in Laquer, they are one coat polishes. Here are the colors they’re doing:
  5. One of my favorite fandom polish makers, LynBDesigns (I’m sure you remember her from TioT and my weekend mani a couple Fridays ago) just hit 2000 likes on Facebook! To celebrate, she put together an awesome giveaway. All her polishes are vegan so go enter!

Weekend mani

I’m working all weekend (boo) and I’ve actually got someone coming today to have their nails painted (what? am I starting a salon? No, I’ve just offered manicures as part of my local time bank. It’s going to be the first manicure I do on another person, too, so wish me luck!) so I’m not doing anything fancy to my nails. Sorry. In fact, I’m not even going to give you an image of my weekend nails, instead I’m going to give you an oldie-but-goodie picture from when I first got my stamper. My stamper was one of the things that really made me want to nail blog, so we owe this pic a lot:

2013-07-15 20.29.55

This mani is from… Wow, July 15th, 2013. Seems like soooo long ago! The colors I used were

  • Base color: OPI Nein! Nein! Nein! Okay Fine! from their Germany Collection (you may notice I use a lot from the Germany collection — that’s because my sister bought me the set 🙂
  • Stamp color: Uhhhhhhh. Idk it was so long ago! But it was probably… OPI That’s Hot Pink

*BONUS*

Six is for… Salad! But not the boring kind of salad. Oh no, it’s the Vegan Stoner nom nom nom kind of salad! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

