Fabulous Friday 5

30 Aug

Good morning friends! It’s Friday and soooo much stuff has happened this week across the web. I had difficulty narrowing it down, but here you go:

  1. This week’s mish mash challenge was music and there were so many great manis, it was difficult to pick just one to feature but I fell in love with A Girl and Her Chicken Named Betty’s Lenka-inspired mani. I love the attention to detail and the different effects on each nail!
  2. Vegan Claws did a review of this beautiful, super textured polish from Jordana (with a perfect gradient to boot!)
  3. It’s Thug Kitchen‘s 1 year anniversary, and he’s putting together one pimp ass (and entertaining) contest with some sweet prizes (note: Thug Kitchen is apparently not actually vegan, but his recipes are!)
  4. SAY WHATT I’m totes geeky out over this Infamous-inspired nail art from Nailasaurus (whose skills I am most jealous of):
  5. Set in Lacquer has a Zoya giveaway going on!

WEEKEND MANI:

So it’s labor day weekend here in the US and, courtesy of the 1971 Uniform Monday Holiday Act (history, HOLLA), I have a long weekend. Since my mom is making me work tonight (I’m a graphic designer and she owns a copy shop haha) instead of going to visit my friends in Philly (boo) I’m going camping with my bestie up here in VT! (yay!) Which means I’m not gonna have much time for polishing not to mention I’ll probably ruin all my polish anyway, so I didn’t spend too much time on this week’s weekend mani.

2013-08-29 23.20.44

It’s just a super quick (but imo super cute!) dottiture. And the photo doesn’t really do it justice because the orange dots are actually neon haha. Maybe when I get to work, I’ll do a little photo editing, but I’m home still (yeahhh Friday morning) so it will have to wait. Anyway the colors I use for this were:

Base Color/Purple Dots: Purple from my Color Club collection (no name, sorry)
Accent Nail Base Color/White Dots: OPI Alpine Snow
Orange dots: LA Colors Breezy

*BONUS*

Six is for Syria: Ugh, sorry, this is the worst bonus ever. Because everything pretty much sucks in Syria right now. Not only has this conflict been raging for over 2 years, but it’s only getting worse every day. And it’s looking less and less like it’s going to let up :/ Anddd this week the Syrian Government decided to start using chemical weapons. Against their own people.

UGH why does this world suck SO MUCH

I’m not going to depress you with pictures of parents uncontrollably sobbing over their dying children (though there is plenty of that — and the pictures are the saddest you will ever see) but here are some links to help get you caught up on what’s going on over there and why:

NY Times: Blasts in the Night, a Smell, and a Flood of Syrian Victims

Buzzfeed: 9 Reasons That Syria Is (Still) a Hot Mess

Okay, I’m sorry to have busted out the wicked depression on that one. But we can’t pretend it’s not happening because that doesn’t make it go away, no matter how hard we try.

Anywayyyy… I hope everyone has a super happy and (un)productive weekend! Enjoy your Monday off if you have it 🙂

One Response to “Fabulous Friday 5”

  1. Alexandria Brady August 31, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    Thanks so much for featuring me!

Leave a Reply

